Archive | July 23, 2014

When We First Met 1992

I Love You. I first met You in November.  My second year of university. I remember the room and shaking Your hand and being introduced briefly. I seemed to have forgotten that night, but You were always keen to remind me.

What I truly remember is meeting You for what seemed like the first time for me. In an IVCF meeting where we sat in school desks. I was excited to meet You. God just put it on my heart that way. Afterwards, You helped on my English project. We met every week so I could interview You on Your language learning experience.

We started talking on the phone. It turned into a daily experience that sometimes grandmother would have something to say to me about it.

I had been determined to stay single for my life, probably over a vow I had made or to avoid being hurt. You changed that. Initially the conversations were pleasant. After a few weeks I was really feeling my emotions  coming to the surface.

Could not think straight or maybe could feel better. I felt so awesome being with You that ignored the principles of courtship and asked You be my girl. Was that Love?

No.

That was self interest. While the joy I felt in being with You was Love, the decision to engage You more than friendship at that time was foolish. Love would have first looked to Your future and sought a course that would protect You from the dangers of relationship with less boundaries. Love would sought to honour You above my desires. No. This was not Love.

By acknowledging this truth, I now act in Love. I Love You for real.